top of page

Rooh.


Author: Rupinder Kaur

Genre: Poetry

Publisher: Verve Poerty Press

Year: September 2018

Formats: Paperback

Blurb: For Rupinder Kaur, writing, along with any other art form, should be azaad – free: free to express what the artist wants or needs to say, without any censorship. Rupinder is known for speaking her mind and this is reflected in her poems.In Rooh, her debut poetry collection, she takes us on a poetic journey that transcends borders and arbitrary boundaries of subject and style. Her work straddles English and Punjabi culture – fusing words from Punjabi, Hindi and Urdu and English. Her poems look at love, religion, identity, politics, history, taboos, society – often questioning orthodox views, particularly around the roles that different genders are expected to adopt. Rooh has a grand scope, and stares unblinkingly at the world. It is a stunning first collection from this young, intelligent poet.

 

Sample

o mereya jugni, jugni

o mereya jugni, jugni

jugni travels from Delhi to Amritsar

across to England

jungi; the essence of life, the spirit of life

comes inside my rooh

jugni comes and dances in my dreams

jugni makes me fly

jugni takes me across borders

taking me to Lahore

jugni removes the radcliffe line

and I see my five rivers flowing together

jugni sees me read and write poetry

jugni tells me to light the candle

jugni watches me apply kohl

jugni watches me paint my lips

jugni looks at me and smiles

jugni tells me to fall in love with myself

jugni is no kafir or fakir

jugni is azaad, jugni is azaad

and jugni makes me free

jugni sets my rooh free

the jugni becomes me…

and the jugni becomes me…

o mereya jugni, jugni…

o mereya jugni, jugni…

bottom of page